OM Slides 3rd Sem
OM Slides 3rd Sem
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Operations and Productivity
Learning Objectives
❖ What Is Operations Management?
❖ Organizing to produce goods and services
❖ What Operations Managers Do
❖ The Heritage of Operations Management
❖ Goods and Services
❖ The Productivity Challenge
❖ Challenges in Operations Management
❖ Ethics, Social Responsibility, and Sustainability
[Link]
Examples
• Washing machine Vs Laundry service
• Car Vs Car Insurance
High customer interaction: Often what the customer is paying for Limited customer involvement in production
Consulting
Inconsistent product definition: Product standardized (iPhone)
Auto Insurance changes with age and type of car
Often knowledge based & hard to automate: Standard tangible product: Automation may be feasible
Legal, education, Medical services
Services dispersed: Product typically produced at a fixed facility
Service may occur at retail store, local office, house call, or via internet.
Quality may be hard to evaluate: Many quality aspects products are easy to evaluate
Consulting, education, and medical services Strength of a bolt
Reselling is unusual: Musical concert or medical care Product often has some residual value
Operations improvements have helped Starbucks increase yearly revenue per outlet
by $250,000 to $1,000,000.
Productivity improved by about 4.5% for the year
Outline Process
Chart?
Old System
8 tiles per day
• Labour productivity = = 0.25 tiles per labour − hr
32 labour−hrs
New System
14 tiles per day
Labour productivity = = 0.4375 tiles per labour − hr
32 labour−hrs
Stakeholders: Those with a vested interest in an organization, including customers, distributors, suppliers, owners, lenders,
employees, and community members
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 29 BITS-Pilani
Pioneers
Taylor’s Principles
Management Should Take More Responsibility for:
1. Matching employees to right job
2. Providing the proper training
3. Providing proper work methods and tools
4. Establishing legitimate incentives for work to be accomplished
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 32 BITS-Pilani
Frank and Lillian Gilbreth
▶ Frank (1868-1924); Lillian (1878-1972)
▶ Husband and wife engineering team
▶ Further developed work measurement methods
▶ Book and Movie: “Cheaper by the Dozen,” “Bells on Their Toes”
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Operations Strategy
Learning Objectives
❖ Management Concepts
❖ Absolute / Comparative / Competitive Advantage
❖ Core competence
❖ Mission and strategy
❖ Developing Missions
❖ Three conceptual ways to achieve the mission
❖ Differentiation, Cost leadership, Response
❖ Developing Strategies
❖ Translate the conceptual ways into tasks that generate customer value
❖ Perspectives to consider
❖ Key success factors and core competencies
❖ Global Strategies
❖ Four global operations strategy options
❖ Factor rating to evaluate outsource providers
[Link]
Strategy
• How to achieve its purpose
Philosophy
and Values
Profitability and
Environment Growth
Mission
Benefit to
Society
Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children provides state of the art, family-centered
healthcare focused on restoring the joy of childhood in an environment of compassion,
healing, and hope.
Organization’s
Mission
Functional Area
Missions
Finance/
Marketing Operations Accounting
Quality To attain the exceptional value that is consistent with our company mission and
management marketing objectives by close attention to design, procurement, production, and
field service operations
Process design To determine, design, and produce the production process and equipment that will
be compatible with low-cost product, high quality, and good quality of work life at
economical cost.
Location To locate, design, and build efficient and economical facilities that will yield high
value to the company, its employees, and the community.
Layout design To achieve, through skill, imagination, and resourcefulness in layout and work
methods, production effectiveness and efficiency while supporting a high quality of
work life.
Supply-chain To collaborate with suppliers to develop innovative products from stable, effective,
management and efficient sources of supply.
Inventory To achieve low investment in inventory consistent with high customer service levels
and high facility utilization.
Scheduling To achieve high levels of throughput and timely customer delivery through effective
scheduling.
1. Differentiation
2. Cost leadership
3. Response
[Link]
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 22 BITS-Pilani
OM’s Contribution to Strategy
10 Operations Competitive
Decisions Strategy Example Advantage
Product DIFFERENTIATION:
Innovative design ………... Safeskin’s innovative gloves
Broad product line ……… Fidelity Security’s mutual funds
Quality After-sales service …….. Caterpillar’s heavy equipment
service
Process Experience …………….. Hard Rock Café’s dining
experience
[Link]
[Link]
• External issues
o Statutory and regulatory requirements, competition, globalisation, social, economic,
political and social factors, innovation and advances in technology
• Internal issues
o Size and complexity of the organisation, resources, competency, maturity,
organizational flux
[Link]
Examples
• Auto industry: Styling, Efficient dealer network, Services, performance
• Food processing industry: New product development, good distribution channels,
health aspects
• Life insurance industry: Reputation, innovative new policies
• Supermarket industry: Right product mix available in each store, having it actually
available on the shelves, pricing it correctly
• McDonald’s: Layout
Form a Strategy
• Build a competitive advantage
o Low price, Design flexibility, Volume flexibility, Quick delivery
Quality, Dependability, After-sale service, Broad product lines
Southwest’s low-cost strategy is highly dependent on a very well-run operations function. To achieve this
competitive advantage
• Southwest has identified six KSFs and support activities
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 35 BITS-Pilani
Activity Mapping: IKEA
IKEA has identified three value proposition. Surrounding these are activities that make these possible
• Needs to make sure they are good at the activities that contribute to that value proposition
Understanding Michael Porter, Joan Magretta
International Multidomestic
strategy strategy
• Import/export or • Use existing domestic
license existing model globally
product • Franchise, joint
ventures, subsidiaries
Examples: Examples:
Harley-Davidson McDonald’s, Heinz
Hard Rock Cafe)
Low
Low High
Local Responsiveness
(Quick Response and/or Differentiation) Figure 2.9
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 41 BITS-Pilani
Outsourcing
TABLE 2.2
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 45 BITS-Pilani
Rating Outsourcing Providers
• Insufficient analysis most common reason for failure
• Factor-rating method
• Points and weights assigned for each factor to each
Score for BIM = (.2 * 3) + (.2 * 4) + (.2 * 5) + (.1 * 4) + (.1 * 5) + (.1 * 4) + (.1 * 2) = 3.9
TABLE 2.3
[Link]
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Project Management
Learning Objectives
❖ Project Planning / Project Scheduling / Project Controlling
❖ Project Management Techniques: AON Network, PERT and CPM, Gantt chart
❖ Determining the Project Schedule
❖ Forward and backward passes
❖ Critical path
❖ Variability in Activity Times
❖ Cost-Time Trade-offs and Project Crashing
Budgets
CPM/PERT Delayed activities report
Gantt charts Slack activities report
Milestone charts
Cash flow schedules
Level
1. Project
2. Major tasks in the project
3. Subtasks in the major tasks
4. Activities (or “work packages”) to be completed
Time
J F M A M J J A S
Design
Prototype
Test
Revise
Production
B A B D B and C cannot
begin until A is
A B and C cannot completed
begin until A is D cannot begin
C completed C until both B and C
are completed
A Earliest Finish
Earliest Start
ES EF
LS LF
2 Latest Finish
Latest Start
Activity Duration
LS t LF
A C F
0 2 2 4 4 7
2 2 3 Activity t Predeccor
A 2 —
Start E H —
0 0 4 8 13 15 B 3
C 2 A
0 4 2 D 4 A, B
E 4 C
B D G
0 3 3 7 8 13 F 3 C
G 5 D, E
3 4 5
H 2 F, G
LS t LF
A C F
0 2 2 4 4 7
Activity t Predeccor
0 2 2 4 10 13 A 2 —
2 2 3
B 3 —
Start E H C 2 A
0 0 4 8 13 15
D 4 A, B
0 0 4 8 13 15 C
0 4 2 E 4
F 3 C
B D G
0 3 3 7 8 13 G 5 D, E
H 2 F, G
1 4 4 8 8 13
3 4 5
A critical path:
• Starts at the first (critical) activity in the project
• Terminates at the last activity in the project
• Includes only critical activities
ON
A C F CRITICAL
0 2 2 4 4 7 ACTIVITY PATH
A Yes
0 2 2 4 10 13
2 2 3 B No
Start E H C Yes
0 0 4 8 13 15 D No
0 0 4 8 13 15 E Yes
0 4 2
F No
B D G G Yes
0 3 3 7 8 13
H Yes
1 4 4 8 8 13
3 4 5
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
A Build internal
ACTIVITY ES EF components
A 0 2 B Modify roof and floor
B 0 3 C Construct collection
stack
C 2 4 D Pour concrete and
D 3 7 install frame
E Build high-temperature
E 4 8
burner
F 4 7 F Install pollution control
system
G 8 13
G Install air pollution
H 13 15 device
H Inspect and test
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
Recall
• CPM assumes we know a fixed time estimate for each activity and there is no
variability in activity times
• The mean time in PERT is usually taken as the fixed time estimate in CPM
v =
Variance of activity completion[(b − a)/6]2Probability of 1 in 100
of >times:
b occurring
B 2 3 4 3 0.11
C 1 2 3 2 0.11
D 2 4 6 4 0.44
E 1 4 7 4 1.00
F 1 2 9 3 1.78
G 3 4 11 5 1.78
H 1 2 3 2 0.11
σ= 1.76 weeks
μ = 15
σ= 1.76 weeks
μ 16
σ= 1.76 weeks
15
Step 2: Using current activity times, find the critical path and identify the critical activities
Step 3: If there is only one critical path, then select the activity on this critical path that (a) can
still be crashed, and (b) has the smallest crash cost per period.
If there is more than one critical path, then select one activity from each critical path
such that (a) each selected activity can still be crashed, and (b) the total crash cost of
all selected activities is the smallest. Note that the same activity may be common to
more than one critical path.
Step 4: Update all activity times. If the desired due date has been reached, stop.
If not, return to Step 2.
G 5 2 1,500
0 0 4 8 13 15
0 4 2 H 2 1 3,000
B D G
0 3 3 7 8 13
1 4 4 8 8 13
3 4 5
0 1 1 3 9 12 • Start–A–C–E–G–H
1 2 3
• Start–B–D–G–H
Start E H Project completion time = 14 weeks
0 0 3 7 12 14
0 0 3 7 12 14
0 4 2 If further crashing is required, it must
be done to all critical paths.
B D G • A sensible strategy is to look at
0 3 3 7 7 12 G
0 3 3 7 7 12
3 4 5
What can you say about Start–A–D–
G–H?
C and D cannot
A C begin until both A C
(d) A and B are
completed
B D B D
B and C cannot
begin until A is
completed
A B D D cannot begin A B D
until both B and C
(f) are completed Dummy
A dummy activity activity
C
C
is again
introduced in AOA
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Design of Goods and Services
(Includes Selection)
Learning Objectives
❖ Product Strategy Options
❖ Product life cycle & Product-by-Value Analysis
❖ Why new products
❖ Why products fail & Kano model
❖ Time-based competition & Product development continuum
❖ Product Development Stages
❖ Quality function deployment (QFD & House of Quality)
❖ Organizing for product development
❖ Considerations for product design
❖ Manufacturability & Value engineering
❖ Defining a product, Product life-cycle management (PLM)
❖ Make-or-buy decisions and Decision trees
❖ Service design
❖ Sustainability
❖ Assembly for Disassembly & Total Life Cycle Ownership Cost
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 3 BITS-Pilani
HS Talks
[Link]
• New product development, Prof. Keith Goffin – Cranfield University School of
Management, UK; About an hour long
• How can you extend the product life cycle of a FMCG brand?, Dr. Nükhet
Vardar – Founder, El Izi Communications Consultancy, UK, About 17 minutes long
The objective of the product decision is to develop and implement a product strategy
that meets the demands of the marketplace
• With a competitive advantage
Tools
• Product Life Cycle
• Product-by-Value Analysis
Loss Profit
Loss
Introduction Growth Maturity Decline
Product life: Few days (Concert t-shirt), months (seasonal fashion), years (CRT TVs), decades (Coke)
PLC: Introduction (AI products), Growth (EVs), Maturity (Flat screen TV), Decline (Landline)
The operations function must have a system to take appropriate decisions at each stage
Products that manage to escape the "death" predicted by the PLC:
• Stay invested: Vinyl records
• Innovating with existing products: iPhone
Constribution (₹ Crore)
2000
Alto 164,110 4,989 898 0.0055 Swift
WagonR
WagonR 129,520 5,246 997 0.0077 1000
Alto
Ertiga
Swift 143,530 7,004 1,751 0.0122
500
Dzire 172,650 10,877 2,719 0.0157 Q3 Omni
Q4
Ertiga 43,060 2,756 606 0.0141 0
0.0000 0.0020 0.0040 0.0060 0.0080 0.0100 0.0120 0.0140 0.0160 0.0180
HSTalks: New product development, Prof. Keith Goffin – Cranfield University School of Management, UK
Concept
Feasibility
Customer Requirements
Functional Specifications
Introduction
Evaluation
Aluminum components
Ergonomic design
Auto exposure
Low relationship: 1
Company A
Company B
Auto focus
G Good
F Fair Lightweight 3 G P
Panel ranking
(Technical
attributes)
2 circuits
2’ to ∞
0.5 A
75%
Company A 0.7 60% yes 1 ok G
Technical
Company B 0.6 50% yes 2 ok F
evaluation
Us 0.5 75% yes 2 ok G
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 23 BITS-Pilani
Organizing for Product Development
• Traditionally – distinct departments
• Duties and responsibilities are defined
• Difficult to foster forward thinking
• A Champion
• Product manager drives the product through the product development system
and related organizations
• Team approach
• Cross functional – representatives from all disciplines or functions
• Product development team, design for manufacturability team, value
engineering team, marketing team
• Japanese “whole organization” approach
• No organizational divisions
Benefits:
1. Reduced complexity of the product
2. Additional standardization of components
3. Improvement of functional aspects of the product
4. Improved job design and job safety
5. Improved maintainability (serviceability) of the product
6. Robust design
$800,000 Revenue
(.6) Low sales – 320,000 Mfg cost ($40 x 8,000)
– 500,000 CAD cost
Hire and train engineers
$365,000
– $20,000 Net loss
$2,500,000 Revenue
(.4) – 1,250,000 Mfg cost ($50 x 25,000)
High sales – 375,000 Hire and train cost
$875,000 Net
$800,000 Revenue
(.6) – 400,000 Mfg cost ($50 x 8,000)
Low sales – 375,000 Hire and train cost
$25,000 Net
Do nothing $0
$0 Net
Sound Barrier, Inc., needs to decide which of two speaker designs is better environmentally.
The design team collected the following information for two audio speaker designs, the Harmonizer and the Rocker:
1. Resale value of the components minus the cost of transportation to the disassembly facility
2. Revenue collected from recycling
3. Processing costs, which include disassembly, sorting, cleaning, and packaging
4. Disposal costs, including transportation, fees, taxes, and processing time
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 38 BITS-Pilani
Example: Design for Disassembly (2 of 2)
Harmonizer Rocker
Resale Recycling Processing Disposal Resale Recycling Processing Disposal
Part
Value Revenue Cost Cost Value Revenue Cost Cost
Printed circuit board $5.93 $1.54 $3.46 $0.00 $7.88 $3.54 $2.12 $0.00
Laminate back 0.00 0.00 4.53 1.74 - - - -
Coil 8.56 5.65 6.22 0.00 6.67 4.56 3.32 $0.00
Processor 9.17 2.65 3.12 0.00 8.45 4.65 3.43 $0.00
Frame 0.00 0.00 2.02 1.23 0.00 0.00 4.87 1.97
Aluminum / Plastic case 11.83 2.10 2.98 0.00 0.00 0.00 4.65 3.98
Total $35.49 $11.94 $22.33 $2.97 $23.00 $12.75 $18.39 $5.95
Revenue Retrieval = Total resale revenue + Total recycling revenue - Total processing cost – Total disposal cost
Total life cycle cost = Cost of vehicle + Life cycle cost of fuel + Life cycle operating cost
• Ford = $28,000 + $(22,000 * 8 * 4.25 / 24) + $(22,000 * 8 * 0.20) = $94,367
• Honda = $32,000 + $(22,000 * 8 * 4.25 / 37) + $(22,000 * 8 * 0.22) = $90,936
How should the following strategic OM decisions be managed to ensure that the product is successful?
Design of Services, Process
Design of Services
• Have a process to understand customers needs / wants
• Develop the delivery process
• Identify customer touchpoints in the delivery process
• Identify what is required to enhance customer satisfaction
o Give inputs to the hiring and training process as well as Quality
• Get feedback from Quality & Process to make changes
Process
Work with the design team
• Understand the service to be provided & Build the process to deliver the service
Monitor customer feedback
• Make changes to the delivery process
• Give feedback to the design team
How customer needs turn How design requirements How part characteristics turn How manufacturing
into design requirements / turn into part characteristics into manufacturing processes processes turn into
functions controlled manufacturing
processes
Identify and prioritize customer Select from various concepts Determine processes, and Define validation methods for
needs and requirements identify the critical ones, that critical process parameters
can affect critical part
characteristics
Develop a concept that Use tools (e.g. FMEA) to Determine production Establish methods to control
responds to both the stated and analyse risks and identify critical equipment, and their processes (e.g. SPC)
latent needs of the customer part / sub-assembly specifications
(including opportunities) characteristics, including
targets, and specification
ranges
Determine critical technical Verify the design (Design Identify critical process Set up inspection,
characteristics, functions Validation) parameters measurement, testing and
summarize them in the Control
Plan
[Link]
Interrelationships
Customer
importance
How to satisfy
ratings
customer wants
assessment
Competitive
What the Relationship
customer matrix
wants
Technical
evaluation
How to Satisfy
Customer Wants
Competitors
Analysis of
What the
Relationship
Customer
Matrix
Wants
Technical
Attributes and
What the Evaluation
customer wants
Customer
importance
rating
(5 = highest)
Lightweight 3
Easy to use 4
Reliable 5
Easy to hold steady 2
High resolution 1
How to Satisfy
Customer Wants
Competitors
Analysis of
What the
Relationship
Customer
Matrix
Wants
Technical
Attributes and
Evaluation
Aluminum components
Ergonomic design
Customer Wants
Auto exposure
Auto focus
How to Satisfy
High relationship
Competitors
Analysis of
Medium relationship What the
Customer
Relationship
Aluminum components
Matrix
Ergonomic design
Technical
Attributes and
Evaluation
Auto exposure
Auto focus
Relationship matrix
Lightweight 3
Easy to use 4
Reliable 5
Easy to hold steady 2
High resolution 1
How to Satisfy
Customer Wants
Competitors
Analysis of
What the
Relationship
Customer
Matrix
+ Wants
- + Technical
Aluminum components
Ergonomic design
Auto exposure
Auto focus
How to Satisfy
Customer Wants
High relationship: 5
Competitors
Analysis of
What the
Medium relationship: 3 Customer
Wants
Relationship
Matrix
Lightweight 3
Easy to use 4
Reliable 5
Easy to hold steady 2
High resolution 1
Weighted rating
How to Satisfy
Customer Wants
Competitors
Analysis of
What the
Relationship
Customer
Matrix
Wants
Company B
Company A
Technical
Attributes and
Evaluation
Reliable 5 F G
Easy to hold steady 2 G P
High resolution 1 P P
How to Satisfy
Customer Wants
Competitors
Analysis of
What the
Relationship
Customer
Matrix
Wants
Technical
Attributes and
Panel ranking
Target values
(Technical
2 circuits
attributes)
2’ to ∞
0.5 A
Aluminum components
Ergonomic design
Auto exposure
Company A
Company B
Low relationship: 1
Auto focus
Lightweight 3 G P
Easy to use 4 G P
Reliable 5 F G
G = good Easy to hold steady 2 G P
F = fair High resolution 1 P P
P = poor Our importance ratings 22 9 27 27 32 25
Panel ranking
(Technical
attributes)
2 circuits
2’ to ∞
0.5 A
75%
Company A 0.7 60% yes 1 ok G
Technical
Company B 0.6 50% yes 2 ok F
evaluation
Us 0.5 75% yes 2 ok G
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 60 BITS-Pilani
House of Quality Sequence
Deploying resources through the organization in response to customer requirements
1. Building starts with developing the initial HOQ.
2. The first set of technical requirements (product requirements) is the new VOC for the HOQ for the
part (or component) requirements. This house assigns the product technical requirements to the
component responsible for providing them.
3. This continues to the process planning house, where the “hows” from the parts house become the
“whats” for the new one, and a new set of requirements is developed.
4. The final house provides the manufacturing requirements that are used to produce the product.
5. The end result is a structured way to connect the actual wants of the customer to the manufacturing
floor
components
Production
Customer
process
House
Specific
Design
1 2 3 4
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Quality
Agenda
❖ What is Quality
❖ Requirements & Characteristics
❖ Cost of Quality
❖ Quality Systems & Tools
❖ Basic QC Tools
❖ Quality Management Principles
❖ Service Quality
Requirements
• Need or expectation that is stated, generally implied or obligatory
Customer, Organization, Government
Characteristic
• The Product / Service Specs
• Are measurable or, at least, can be monitored visually
Hotel Stay
• Stated: Complimentary breakfast
• Generally implied: Comfortable bed
• Obligatory: Cleanliness
[Link]
Effective quality management decreases production costs because the sooner an error
is found and corrected, the less costly it will be
[Link]
• GE recalled 3+ million dishwashers – the cost of repairs exceeded the value of the m/c
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 11 BITS-Pilani
COQ Expenses – Examples
Prevention Costs Internal Failure
Prevention of problems The cost to rework a defective product before delivery
Process capability studies Overtime
Process documentation Redesign
Vendor evaluation Rework
Design review Scrap
Quality improvement projects Downtime
Training
Strategy
Elimination of External Failure Costs
Elimination of Internal Failure Costs
Investment in Appraisal Costs
Investment in Prevention Costs
4. Act 1. Plan
Implement Identify the
the plan, pattern and
document make a plan
3. Check 2. Do
Is the plan Test the
working? plan
[Link]
What’s happening
on
Wed & Sat?
Friday?
[Link]
[Link]
(Stratification: A technique that separates data gathered from a variety of sources so that patterns can be seen)
Productivity
Absenteeism
[Link]
[Link]
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 35 BITS-Pilani
Patterns in Control Charts
Process Out of Control when
• A point falls outside the control limits
• When there are patterns:
o 7 above or below the central line
o 5 consecutive points increasing or decreasing
o Two points very near LCL / UCL
o Run of 5 above (or below) central line
o Erratic behavior
If there are assignable causes, the control chart can be revised after dropping such points
Control Factors
n A2 D3 D4 d2
ഥ 𝐂𝐡𝐚𝐫𝐭 𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐫𝐨𝐥 𝐋𝐢𝐦𝐢𝐭𝐬
𝐗 2 1.88 0 3.27 1.13
• UCL = Xന + A2 R
ഥ 3 1.02 0 2.57 1.69
• LCL = Xന − A2 R
ഥ 4 0.73 0 2.28 2.06
5 0.58 0 2.11 2.33
R 𝐂𝐡𝐚𝐫𝐭 𝐂𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐫𝐨𝐥 𝐋𝐢𝐦𝐢𝐭𝐬 6 0.48 0 2.00 2.53
ഥ
• UCL = D4 R 7 0.42 0.08 1.92 2.70
ഥ
• LCL = D3 R 8 0.37 0.14 1.86 2.85
9 0.34 0.18 1.82 2.97
10 0.31 0.22 1.78 3.08
0.200
0.100
0.000
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Sample
10.850
10.800
10.750
Means
Sample
10.700 mean
UCL
10.650 LCL
grand
10.600
mean of x
10.550
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15
Sample
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 41 BITS-Pilani
Interpreting X Bar R Control Charts
• Always examine the R chart first (X bar chart control limits require R bar)
• If the points are out of control in R chart, then stop the process.
o Identify the special cause and address the issue.
• Once the R bar chart is in control, review X bar chart against the control limits.
o The specification limits are provided by customer or management
o Control limits are derived from the average and range values of the subgroups.
• If any point is out of control in the X bar chat
o Identify the special cause and address the issue.
• Process capability studies can be performed only after both X bar and R chart
values are within the control limits.
[Link]
Control Factors
n A2 D3 D4 d2
Example: Process Capability = 6 * 0.1884 / 2.33 = 0.4852 2 1.88 0 3.27 1.13
3 1.02 0 2.57 1.69
4 0.73 0 2.28 2.06
5 0.58 0 2.11 2.33
6 0.48 0 2.00 2.53
7 0.42 0.08 1.92 2.70
8 0.37 0.14 1.86 2.85
9 0.34 0.18 1.82 2.97
10 0.31 0.22 1.78 3.08
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 44 BITS-Pilani
Process Capability Index
USL−LSL 0.2
Cp = = = 0.41
6σ 0.4852
1. Customer Focus
2. Leadership
3. Engagement Of People
4. Process Approach
5. Improvement
6. Evidence based Decision Making
7. Relationship Management
Relationship Management
A mutually beneficial relationships with all interested parties
Competence means possession of the required skills and knowledge to perform the service
Understanding/knowing the customer involves making the effort to understand the customer's needs
[Link]
*The degree to which products conform to essential requirements and meet the needs of the users for which they are intended
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
Operations Management
Process Mapping
Objectives
❖ To understand the process approach
❖ Process Mapping
❖ Process Map
❖ Swim Lanes
❖ Time-Function Mapping
❖ Service Blueprint
❖ Describe customer interaction in service processes
❖ Outline Process Chart
Activities
Source of Inputs Inputs Outputs Receivers of outputs
Matter, energy
Matter, energy information (e.g. in the
• Predecessor processes information (e.g. form of product, • Subsequent processes
• Suppliers, materials, service, decision • Customers,
• Customers, resources,
• Other relevant parties requirements
Outline Process Chart Recording the essential features of a work situation for
subsequent analysis (Textbook: Process Chart)
• Also called flowcharts, process flowchart, process chart, functional process chart,
functional flowchart, process model, workflow diagram, business flow diagram or
process flow diagram.
[Link]
Process
Sales order
Order
Production Wait
control
Product
Order
Plant A Print
Product
WIP
Warehouse Wait Wait Wait
Product
WIP
WIP
WIP
Plant B Extrude
Order Receive
Customer product product
Process
Sales order
Product
Order
Production
control Wait
Order
WIP
Plant Print Extrude
Product
Warehouse Wait
Product
Transport Move
Physical Evidence:
• For each customer action, the moment of truth: The related physical evidence
• Tangibles the customer is exposed to, that can influence the quality perceptions
It is used when analyzing the steps in a process, to help identify and eliminate waste
• A tool for efficiency planning.
[Link]
OPERATION: an activity that adds some value: The part, material or product is usually modified or changed
INSPECTION: Inspects something that has occurred; Indicates a check for quality or quantity
STORAGE: Setting something aside for a while; Controlled storage in which material is received into or
issued from a store, or an item is retained for reference purposes
DELAY or TEMPORARY STORAGE: Waiting for something to happen; indicates a delay in the process
[Link]
Yes Yes
Table All
Free? ready?
Put name in
queue Cook some
Seat in Re-heat
Lobby some
Take to Write
table order
No Table Yes
Free?
Serve Generate
Waiter food bill
Submit
Take Seat at order
name lobby
Assemble
Chef order
No All
Heat some Cook some
ready?
Line of Interaction
Seat at Write
table order
No Table Yes
Free?
Submit
Take Seat at order
name lobby
Assemble
Chef order
No All
Cook some
ready?
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Process Strategy
Objectives
Describe the four process strategies
A process strategy is the approach to transforming resources into goods and services
1. Process focus
2. Repetitive focus
3. Product focus
4. Mass customization
Repetitive
(autos, motorcycles,
home appliances, fast
foods)
Product Focus
(commercial baked
goods, steel, glass,
beer)
Mass Customization
difficult to achieve; huge
rewards
(DELL, Confectionary)
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 6 BITS-Pilani
Process, Volume, and Variety
Process Focus
projects, job shops (hospitals,
restaurants)
high variable costs with low
utilization of facilities
Repetitive
(autos, motorcycles, home
appliances)
Possibly the economic
advantage of the product-
focused model and the
custom advantage of the low-
volume, high-variety model
Product Focus
(commercial baked goods,
steel, glass, beer)
Mass Customization
(difficult to achieve, but huge
rewards)
Continuous manufacturing
generally uses raw materials
that undergo some kind of
chemical reaction or change.
Broadly skilled operators Moderately trained employees Less broadly skilled operators Flexible operators
Instructions for each job Few changes in the instructions Standardized job instructions Custom orders requiring many job
instructions
Finished goods are made to order Finished goods are made to Finished goods are made to a Finished goods are build-to-order
and not stored frequent forecasts forecast and stored (BTO)
Low utilization and and variable Fixed costs are dependent on Fixed costs are high and variable Fixed costs tend to be high and
costs high flexibility of the facility costs low variable costs low
Customer interaction represents the degree to Degree of Customer Interaction & Customization
Low High
which the customer can intervene in the service
process. Service Factory Service Shop
Degree of Labor
No-frills Specialized
airlines hospitals
Customization refers to the need and ability to
alter the service in order to satisfy the individual
Mass Service Professional Service
customer's particular preferences.
Architects
Colleges
Labor intensity can be defined as the ratio of High
Fine-dining
labor cost to plant and equipment restaurants
Commercial Private
banking banking
Degree of Labor
No-frills Specialized
• Personalized services airlines hospitals
Location Low
Layout design
Degree of Labor
No-frills Specialized
Human resources airlines hospitals
SCM
Inventory Mass Service Professional Service
Scheduling Architects
Colleges
Maintenance High
Fine-dining
restaurants
Commercial Private
banking banking
Thank you!!
BITS Pilani presentation
BITS Pilani
Pilani Campus
BITS Pilani
Pilani | Dubai | Goa | Hyderabad
Operations Management
Capacity and Constraint Management
HS Talks
[Link]
• Capacity strategies
Prof. Brian Tomlin – Tuck School of Business, Dartmouth College, USA
• About 6 minutes long
Effective capacity
• The capacity a firm expects to achieve given current operating constraints
o Often lower than design capacity
Effective capacity Design capacity minus lost output Frito-Lay loses 3 hours of output per day
because of planned resource (= 0.5 hrs./day on preventive maintenance,
unavailability (e.g., preventive 1 hr./day on employee breaks, and 1.5 hrs./day setting up machines
maintenance, machine for different products).
setups/changeovers, changes in Effective Capacity
product mix, scheduled breaks) = 16,000 bags/day – (1,000 bags/hr.)(3 hrs./day)
= 16,000 bags/day – 3,000 bags/day
= 13,000 bags/day
Actual output Effective capacity minus lost output On average, machines at Frito-Lay are not running 1 hr./day due to
during unplanned resource idleness late parts and machine breakdowns.
(e.g., absenteeism, machine Actual Output
breakdowns, unavailable parts, quality = 13,000 bags/day – (1,000 bags/hr.)(1 hr./day)
problems) = 13,000 bags/day – 1,000 bags/day
= 12,000 bags/day
MBA ZG526 Operations Management 10 BITS-Pilani
Two Measures of System Performance
• Capacity management
o When managing demand is not possible
Full time, temporary, part-time staff
(a) Leading demand with (a) New capacity acquired at the (b) Leading demand with a
incremental expansion one-step expansion
beginning of period 1 to stay ahead
New
New of demand capacity
capacity
Demand
Demand
Expected Expected
demand (b) Make a larger increase at the demand
beginning of period 1
Demand
Demand
A B C
Wrap/
Order Bread Fill Toaster
Deliver
15 sec/sandwich 20 sec/sandwich 40 sec/sandwich
30 sec/sandwich 37.5 sec/sandwich
30 sec
Bread Fill Toaster 37.5 sec
Hygienist
cleaning
5 min/unit
Hygienist
cleaning
Cost
function crosses the total 500 –
cost line is the break-even 400 –
Variable cost
point 300 –
• Assumption: 200 –
o Costs and revenue are 100 – Fixed cost
linear functions | | | | | | | | | | | |
Not the case in the real 0 100 200 300 400 500 600 700 800 900 1000 1100
BEPx: Total cost = Total Revenue ⇒ 10,000 + 2.25x = 4x ⇒ x = $10,000 / (4 – 2.25) = 5714.29 ~ 5,714
F
=
BEP$ éæ V ö ù
( )
åêêç1- Pi ÷ ´ Wi úú
ëè i ø û
where
V = variable cost per unit
P = price per unit
F = fixed costs
W = percent each product is of total dollar sales (expressed as a decimal)
i = each product
F
BEP$= V = $3000 * 12 / 0.47 = $76,596
σ 1−Pi × Wi
i
Example
Find the Future Value of Rs.2,000 3 years hence when the interest rate is 8% pa compounded annually
2,000 (1 + 0.08)3 = 2,519.42
Example
Find the PV of Rs.2519.42 received 3 years from now when the interest rate is 8% pa compounded
annually
Discount Factor: (1 + .08)-3 = 0.7938 AND PV = 2519.424 * 0.7938 = 1,999.92
1 1 1 1 1
𝑁𝑃𝑉 = + + + + = 0.9434 + 0.8900 + 0.8396 + 0.7921 + 0.7473
1.06 1 1.06 2 1.06 3 1.06 4 1.06 5
= 4.2124
Thank you!!