Muse Privacy Policy
Effective from 17 September 2026
What is this Privacy Policy and what does it cover?
The Meta Privacy Policy applies to all Meta Products, including Muse. This Muse Privacy Policy adds details specific to Muse and explains when data use is more limited than the Meta Privacy Policy describes. If the two policies conflict, this Policy takes precedence.
Your data in Muse
Muse runs on an environment in the cloud called a virtual machine ("VM"). This is the core environment where Muse keeps information you share and things you create together. Every Muse user's VM is isolated, so no one else's agent can access it.
You can choose whether to use Muse with a separate account or with an account in the same Accounts Centre as your other Meta accounts. If you keep accounts separate, Muse won't share your Muse interactions or data on your VM with other Meta Products. In the future, Muse users will also have the choice to use a Muse Confidential VM: an environment that we're designing to keep people's information private, even from Meta.
Muse and Meta ads
Muse doesn't share your conversations or the data in your virtual machine with Meta ad systems. This applies even if your Accounts Centre includes other Meta Products.
Improving our AI models
You decide whether we can use your interactions with Muse to train and improve our AI models. This setting is on when you first use Muse. You can change it at any time using the toggle in your Settings under "Data controls". When the setting is off, your interactions with Muse will not be used to develop and improve AI at Meta. Changes to this setting also apply to previous interactions.
Allowing us to use your interactions in training helps us make smarter, more capable models. If you do allow this, we still remove certain categories of personally identifiable information, such as names, email addresses, phone numbers and social security numbers. We also disassociate the interactions from your account.
Your interactions with Muse can also include information from services that Muse uses to perform tasks for you, including Connectors (explained below). The same toggle in your Settings controls whether that information can be used to improve AI at Meta.
Connecting Muse to apps and services
You can choose to connect Muse to apps and services provided by Meta or third parties. We call these Connectors. When you set up a Connector, Muse gets new abilities, such as the ability to see your calendar or write an email.
By default, Muse will not take many important actions, such as sending an email, without your approval. Many Connectors can also be set up so that Muse is only able to retrieve data, but not take actions (such as sending a calendar invitation). You can change when Muse asks for your approval in your Settings.
When you connect Connectors, you are requesting that Muse exchange information with them to perform actions for you. Connectors have their own terms and privacy policies that govern how they use the information that they receive.
We designed Muse to exchange with Connectors only the data that's needed for them to work for you. For example, connecting your email allows Muse to search your email, but it won't download your whole inbox (unless you tell it to). Some Connectors can also share information proactively with Muse. For example, calendar Connectors can update Muse automatically when there are changes in your schedule. We identify Connectors that do this before you connect them.
You can disconnect a Connector at any time. This stops Muse from exchanging data with the Connector. Data that Muse previously used to perform tasks with that Connector may remain in Muse's memories and your conversation history. You can ask Muse to "forget" those interactions, as described below.
Deleting Muse data
You can delete any message that you send to Muse, side chats with Muse and files in your virtual machine. If you want to start from scratch, you can reset Muse, which deletes all your Muse data.
After you've deleted something, Muse may still "remember" information that it learnt from what you deleted. You can also use the Forget skill to have Muse forget information about specific topics or people; Muse will forget the information to the best of its ability. You can find out what Muse remembers about you at any time by asking directly or by viewing files, such as your MEMORY.md.
Information that we collect through Muse
The information that we collect depends on how you use Muse and what you choose to share or connect. In addition to the information described in the Meta Privacy Policy, we collect:
- Your interactions with Muse. Your messages and instructions, Muse's responses and information from services, including Connectors used to perform tasks for you. This can include text, voice, photos, things that you create together and information about you or others.
- Files and stored information. Files that you upload, ask Muse to store or create with Muse, including artefacts and system files such as MEMORY.md. This also includes saved preferences, goals, memories and scheduled tasks.
- Information from Connectors. Information that Muse retrieves or receives from connected services, such as emails and calendar events. Information used for a task forms part of your interactions with Muse.
- Activity and metadata. Information about how you use Muse, including features used, websites visited, actions and transactions, timing and frequency, and associated metadata.
Accounts Centre
Except in circumstances where this Privacy Policy says data will not be used, if you add Muse to the same Accounts Centre as other Products, we may combine and use your information across profiles and devices in that Accounts Centre. Learn more about how we use and share your information across accounts. If you don't want to use Muse in the same Accounts Centre as other Products, you can sign up for Muse with an email address that isn't associated with an existing account.
Meta Wearable Products
If you access or use Muse through Meta Wearable Products, the Supplemental MPT Privacy Policy also applies. In the event of any conflict, the Muse Privacy Policy takes precedence.