You signed in with another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You signed out in another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.You switched accounts on another tab or window. Reload to refresh your session.Dismiss alert
hello. move to trash should ask for confirmation. heres why.
i have some changes in a file. if i try to discard these changes, i get asked if im sure. if i accidentally click on to move it to trash, then all my changes go away with it. thats not right, is it..
Moving to trash doesn't lose changes, it just moves the file to the trash. So "all [your] changes go away with it" is only somewhat correct : if you restore the file, your changes are still in there.
Semantics aside, it seems there's a bug w.r.t to that dialog box : I'm pretty sure I have been asked for confirmation, but now I don't.
well yea the changes stay in the file, but to restore the file I have to manually go to the trash and restore. I should not need to go away from the app to do that.
well yea the changes stay in the file, but to restore the file I have to manually go to the trash and restore. I should not need to go away from the app to do that.
Won't happen. IIRC wrangling the trash programmatically is a can of worms, and (apart from the non confirmation bug) no other OS X application works that way.
Activity
tiennou commentedon Jul 3, 2017
Moving to trash doesn't lose changes, it just moves the file to the trash. So "all [your] changes go away with it" is only somewhat correct : if you restore the file, your changes are still in there.
Semantics aside, it seems there's a bug w.r.t to that dialog box : I'm pretty sure I have been asked for confirmation, but now I don't.
pvinis commentedon Jul 3, 2017
well yea the changes stay in the file, but to restore the file I have to manually go to the trash and restore. I should not need to go away from the app to do that.
yes, a confirmation dialog would be nice.
tiennou commentedon Jul 3, 2017
Won't happen. IIRC wrangling the trash programmatically is a can of worms, and (apart from the non confirmation bug) no other OS X application works that way.
pvinis commentedon Jul 3, 2017
I know. and that's why it should ask before moving to trash. maker it harder to move to trash accidentally.